Authentication Primer: Which Approach Does What?

10th September 2015 Subscribe via RSS to get updates as soon as Webinars are added Tweet about this item on Twitter Share on Facebook Share on LinkedIn
[Topic Series: All About Usage]

 « All Webinars 

Jinfo Subscription WebinarDescription

One of the most challenging aspects of information access and delivery is user authentication.

There are no accepted standards across the industry, and each vendor may support different approaches to access and authentication. At the same time, purchasing organisations may harbour conflicting opinions in different parts of the business (IT, security, information services) as to the "right" way to achieve the organisation's goals for easy access and use, as well as security and reporting.

A fundamental challenge is how difficult it can be to sort out, in a clear and unbiased manner, the options for authentication and the pros and cons of each. That's why we're thrilled to feature Qualcomm library manager, Isabelle Garcia, in this FreePint Webinar: Authentication Primer.

Of the organisations we work with, Qualcomm is the most developed in terms of clarity of goals and results in managing authentication. This is due in no small part to Isabelle's research on different approaches, including single sign-on, IP authentication, tools like EZproxy, and more.

Although no system is perfect, clarity around strengths and weaknesses, as well as how each aligns with the information centre's and organisation's overall goals, creates the potential for sound decisions and policy.

Join this session to get the essential introduction to authentication methods.

Restricted to FreePint Subscribers and registered guests. Included in your FreePint Subscription, but spaces are limited.

Date:

  • Thursday, 10th September at 08:00 Pacific / 10:00 Central / 11:00 Eastern / 16:00 (BST) / 17:00 Europe, 60 minutes

Webinar Recording and/or Slide Deck

This event has passed, and a recording and/or slide deck is available for customers with a Jinfo Subscription.

If you have a Jinfo Subscription, please sign in here so that we can check your account:

MyJinfo Login

Email:

Password:

  Forgotten password?

If you are considering purchasing a Jinfo Subscription and would like to request guest access to view the recording, please contact us.

Subscription Benefits and Pricing

About this Webinar:


 « All Webinars 




Login to MyJinfo if you already have a Jinfo Subscription