Why We Keep Talking About The News

30th June 2016 Subscribe via RSS to get updates as soon as Webinars are added Tweet about this item on Twitter Share on Facebook Share on LinkedIn
[Research Focus: Content and Technology for Current Awareness]

 « All Webinars 

Jinfo Subscription WebinarDescription

As we gear up to kick off our new Research Focus, "Content and Technology for Current Awareness" in July, we're reflecting on why current awareness (or "news delivery", as we used to call it) remains such an opaque topic for so many.

 

The Tyranny of Choice

As the current Research Focus, Source Expertise - What it Means in a Google World", is revealing, there is still a very real need for the work of the information professional. This is despite the ease of services and products like Google causing a perception that source expertise is now no more than typing a keyword into a search engine.

However, new technologies and the increased ability for users to self-serve is making our jobs more complex.

The vendor marketplace is changing dramatically, with new offerings constantly becoming available. Technology appears to be maturing but new challenges such as integration and internal news sources are appearing. And the way in which information professionals evaluate the sources, technology and value of news delivery options needs to evolve with the changing world around us.

Jinfo's director of research, Robin Neidorf, will be providing an essential briefing in the webinar on the key issues that you need to be aware of, and which we’ll be exploring in more detail during July through September.

This Jinfo Webinar will share:

  • The evidence suggesting that traditional news databases are on the wane
  • How to make the ongoing evolution of current awareness more manageable
  • Emerging best practice from organisations that have successfully transformed their approach to news delivery.

Restricted to customers with a Jinfo Subscription at the Content level or higher, and registered guests. Spaces are limited.

Date:

  • Thursday, 30th June 2016 at 08:00 Pacific / 10:00 Central / 11:00 Eastern / 16:00 (GMT) / 17:00 Europe, 30 minutes

Webinar Recording and/or Slide Deck

This event has passed, and a recording and/or slide deck is available for customers with a Jinfo Subscription.

If you have a Jinfo Subscription, please sign in here so that we can check your account:

MyJinfo Login

Email:

Password:

  Forgotten password?

If you are considering purchasing a Jinfo Subscription and would like to request guest access to view the recording, please contact us.

Subscription Benefits and Pricing

About this Webinar:

Click to view all Jinfo Subscription Articles Related Subscription Articles:


 « All Webinars 




Login to MyJinfo if you already have a Jinfo Subscription

What's new at Jinfo?